Africa: Niger, Ghana to Host WAFU B Tournaments This 12 months

The West Africa Football Union (WAFU) Zone B has named Niger and Ghana as hosts of the regional physique’s U20 and U17 Championships respectively this 12 months.

The regional governing physique confirmed the collection of Niger because the host nation for the 2022 U20 Cup of Nations on Thursday.

The biennial match, which additionally serves because the qualification for the TotalEnergies U20 Africa Cup of Nations, will get the organisation’s actions underway for this 12 months.

It can be held within the capital Niamey from May 7 to May 20, 2022.

Title holders Ghana will compete with rivals Nigeria, Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, Benin, Togo and hosts Niger for the coveted trophy.

They can even be vying for locations on the 2023 version of the U20 AFCON.

The Black Satellites got here from behind to beat Burkina Faso 2-1 to win the 2020 Championship on the Stade Charles De Gaulles in Porto Novo, Benin.

Ghana went forward to overcome the remainder of Africa on the major match in Mauritania, beating Uganda 2-0 within the finals in Nouakchott to win their fourth title within the historical past of the match.

The subsequent U20 AFCON match will happen in Egypt from February 18, 2023 to March 12, 2022.

The high 4 groups will qualify to the FIFA U20 World Cup held in Indonesia later that 12 months.

Meanwhile, the management of WAFU Zone B has settled on the Ghanaian metropolis of Cape Coast – as hosts for the 2022 U-17 Cup of Nations in June.

The Zone B Championship, which serves as qualifiers for the TotalEnergies Africa U17 Cup of Nations, can be hosted within the metropolis within the central a part of Ghana.

It can be staged from Saturday June 11 to Friday June 24, 2022.

The match will function host Ghana, defending Champions Cote D’Ivoire, giants Nigeria, Burkina Faso, Togo, Benin and Niger.

The collaborating crew will vie for the trophy and tickets to the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations.

Source hyperlink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.