NASCAR at Martinsville stay updates: Xfinity race tonight


John Hunter Nemecheck (18), AJ Allmendinger (16) and Ty Gibbs (54) race throughout Stage 1 of a NASCAR Xfinity Series auto race at Richmond Raceway, Saturday, April 2, 2022, in Richmond, Va. (AP Photo/Mike Caudill)


NASCAR’s Xfinity Series races at Martinsville Speedway tonight at 7:30 p.m. (FS1, MRN, SiriusXM). The race in 250 laps with phases ending on laps 60, 120 and 250.

Follow alongside beneath for stay race updates.

Stage 2

9:09 p.m., Lap 102: The warning is out after Joe Graf Jr. will get into Stefan Parsons’ automobile. The group says that there’s no harm to restore after Parsons goes for a giant, practically 360-degree spin that he saves.

9:05 p.m., Lap 88: Ty Gibbs re-takes the lead from Noah Gragson, who’s led 23 laps. Gibbs has led 70 and counting. Dale Jr. loses a number of spots after the restart, falling to twelfth. He settles in out of the top-10.

8:57 p.m., Lap 75: The warning comes again out for Jade Buford, who was turned by Joe Graf Jr. in Turn 3. Buford is right down to thirty fourth. “I think it’s OK, I just got hung out on the outside.” Noah Gragson and Austin Hill take the within lane whereas Ty Gibbs and Dale Earnhardt Jr. take the highest line.

Stage 1

8:47 p.m., Lap 60: Ty Gibbs wins the primary stage at Martinsville after main all laps of the primary stage. Justin Allgaier finishes the stage in second, adopted by Ryan Truex, Landon Cassill, Daniel Hemric, AJ Allmendinger, Brandon Jones, Josh Berry, Sam Mayer and Sheldon Creed. Noah Gragson will restart first and Gibbs is first on pit street. Dale Jr. stays out beneath warning and strikes to fourth for the restart.

8:33 p.m., Lap 39: Howie DiSavino brings out one other warning along with his automobile stopped on observe. “I think the driveshaft broke. I don’t know,” DiSavino says. NASCAR has referred to as Ty Gibbs to the hauler after the race for not slowing down on the warning.

8:27 p.m., Lap 13: After 12 warning laps, the race restarts and Brett Moffitt has an early subject. “As soon as I shifted to third (gear), it just exploded,” Moffit tells his crew after the restart. He’ll take his automobile behind the wall.

8:20 p.m., Lap 1: Brennan Poole brings out the primary warning of the race for his No. 47 leaking oil. “What in the hell?” Poole’s radio says. His automobile was up in smoke as quickly because the race went inexperienced with a doable oil line dis-attached. “What in the world, man, I can’t believe this sh***. That was definitely the motor cause (smoke) was coming out the front.”


8:09 p.m.: The observe is dry, drivers have been referred to as again to their automobiles and engines are re-fired. Crews are saying that there can be six tempo laps.

7:48 p.m.: There’s gentle rain on the observe shortly after pre-race ceremonies, simply after the command to fireside engines, and the beginning of the race can be delayed. Cars have been coated on the grid.

Five automobiles are dropping to the rear for tonight’s race for unapproved changes, together with the No. 88 pushed by Dale Earnhardt Jr. Additionally, the Nos. 9, 26, 34, 44 pushed by Noah Gragson, Derek Griffith, Kyle Weatherman and Howie DiSavino III, respectively will drop to the again.

Xfinity storylines

Dale Earnhardt Jr. is making his sole begin within the Xfinity Series this season tonight at Martinsville. Earnhardt, a well-liked former full-time Cup driver and NASCAR on NBC analyst, is slated to begin thirtieth after qualifying. He’s driving the No. 88 Chevrolet for his JR Motorsports group.

Ty Gibbs is making his third consecutive pole begin after posting a finest qualifying time on Thursday. He’s driving the No. 54 Toyota and searching for his fourth win of the season.

Chase Elliott on the pole for Cup race

Chase Elliott certified on the pole with a time of 19.694 seconds and pace of 96.151 mph. Aric Almirola will begin on the entrance row with Elliott adopted by Cole Custer and Chris Buescher.


  • Race: Call 811 Before You Dig 250 Powered by
  • Distance: 250 laps (131.5 miles) with phases ending on laps 60, 120, 250
  • Where: Martinsville Speedway
  • When: Friday, April 8 at 7:30 p.m. ET
  • TV: FS1 at 6:30 p.m. ET
  • Radio: MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio
  • Purse: $1,501,956

NASCAR Xfinity Series at Martinsville beginning order

Order Driver Car No.
1 Ty Gibbs 54
2 Justin Allgaier 7
3 Noah Gragson 9
4 Ryan Truex 18
5 Sheldon Creed 2
6 Brett Moffitt 2
7 Landon Cassill 10
8 Ryan Sieg 39
9 Daniel Hemric 11
10 Josh Berry 8
11 Riley Herbst 98
12 Brandon Jones 19
13 A.J. Allmendinger 16
14 Austin Hill 21
15 Jeremy Clements 51
16 Anthony Alfredo 23
17 Brandon Brown 68
18 Alex Labbe 36
19 Myatt Snider 31
20 Parker Retzlaff 38
21 Sam Mayer 1
22 Howie DiSavino III 44
23 Stefan Parsons 99
24 Joe Graf, Jr. 7
25 Jeb Burton 27
26 Mason Massey 91
27 Kyle Weatherman 34
28 Shane Lee 35
29 Bayley Currey 4
30 Dale Earnhardt Jr. 88
31 Jade Buford 48
32 Brennan Poole 47
33 J.J. Yeley 66
34 Ryan Vargas 6
35 David Starr 8
36 Ryan Ellis 45
37 Derek Griffith 26
38 Ronnie Bassett, Jr. 77
39 Matt Mills 5
40 Chad Finchum 13
41 Josh Williams 78
42 Natalie Decker 28
43 Harrison Rhodes 52

This story was initially printed April 8, 2022 6:58 PM.

NASCAR and Charlotte FC beat reporter Alex Andrejev joined The Observer in January 2020 following an internship at The Washington Post. She is a two-time APSE award winner for her NASCAR beat protection and National Motorsports Press Association award winner. She is the host of McClatchy’s podcast “Payback” about girls’s soccer.
Support my work with a digital subscription

Source hyperlink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.