Twelve Hybrid-Powered Rally 1 automobiles to begin WRC Safari on June 23-26 – Sports Africa

WRC Safari Rally Kenya has attracted 12 FIA World Rally Championship’s new hybrid-powered Rally1 automobiles which can debut on Kenya’s picturesque terrain on the weekend of June 23 – 26.

The star-studded 34-car subject follows the shut of the deadline for entries on May 23.

The state-of-the-art electrified hybrid period of the WRC is being run for the primary time ever this season as a part of the newly launched FIA Rally Pyramid launched firstly of the 2022 WRC season in Monte Carlo.

The FIA Rally Pyramid includes Rally 1 which is the WRC automobile, Rally 2 (the previous R5 automobiles), Rally 3, 4 and 5.

World champions Toyota Gazoo Racing will probably be that includes 4 GR Yaris Rally1 automobiles for defending champion and megastar Sébastien Ogier, Welshman Elfyn Evans, Japanese speedster Takamoto Kastuta and present WRC chief Kalle Rovanperä.

Ogier is teaming up with compatriot Benjamin Veillas for the primary time on Kenyan soil following Julien Ingrassia’s retirement from the game.

Ingrassia guided Ogier to a maiden Safari victory in Naivasha final yr following their dramatic final minute comeback.

Estonian Ott Tänak, Belgian Thierry Neuville and flying Oliver Solberg will pilot the three Hyundai Motorsport’s i20 N Rally1 automobiles.

Neuville’s goals of a maiden WRC Safari victory final yr collapsed on the closing day’s opening Loldia pace check the place the Belgian began the 11.33km stage with a lead of virtually a minute in his Hyundai i20 over Takamoto Katsuta.

His hopes have been shattered alongside together with his automobile’s rear proper suspension after he hit a rock halfway by way of the check.

–Legend Loeb Back in Safari–

Five M-Sport Ford Puma Rally1 automobiles have additionally been listed for the long-lasting occasion. The British squad’s line-up has Craig Breen, Jourdan Serderidis, Gus Greensmith, Adrien Fourmaux and nine-time champion Sébastien Loeb.

Loeb is returning to Kenya after twenty years when he completed the 2002 WRC Safari in fifth total spot. He will probably be co-driven by former security word crew member Isabelle Galmiche.

Greensmith will probably be accompanied by Swede Jonas Andersson after the duo debuted collectively on the 2021’s season-closer.

Kenya National Rally Championship chief Karan Patel is listed in a 10-car WRC2 subject alongside compatriots Raaji Singh Bharij (Skoda Fabia), Aakif Virani and Amaanraj Rai in a Skoda Fabia Evo.

Foreigners entered for Rally 2 embody Martin Prokop of Czech Republic in a Ford Fiesta MKII, Sean Johnson of the USA in a Citroen C3, present FIA African Rally Championship chief Leroy Gomes of Zambia,

Another Rally2 Fabia is within the palms of Indian speedster Gaurav Gill who’s teaming up with Brazilian Gabriel Morales.

WRC3 has 5 Ford Fiesta Rally 3s to be piloted by Kenya’s FIA Rally Stars McRae Kimathi, Hamza Anwar, Maxime Wahome and Jeremy Wahome whereas Paraguay’s Diego. Dominguez can also be listed within the Fiesta the combination..

The National class has attracted seven automobiles, primarily Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution Xs from Kenya.

Physically challenged Nikhil Sachania will probably be on the wheel of a hand- managed Evolution X. Rwandese speedster Giancarlo Davite and Kenya’s Minesh Rathod are additionally listed within the National Category.

KCB Bank Kenya and Toyota Kenya are among the many sponsors of WRC Safari Rally Kenya.

– Advertisement –

Source hyperlink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.