Wakonda’s Sorenson Amongst 14 Chosen For S.D. Hoops Hall | Sports activities

SIOUX FALLS — The late Milton Sorenson, one of many best scorers in South Dakota basketball historical past, is considered one of 14 former gamers who has been chosen as a member of the Class of 2022 for the South Dakota Basketball Hall of Fame.

Standouts from seven completely different many years are represented. Graduation years of the inductees vary from 1947 to 2004. The twelfth annual induction banquet will probably be Aug. 27 on the Ramkota Hotel in Sioux Falls. Ticket data will probably be introduced quickly at

Sorenson, a 1953 graduate of Wakonda, started taking part in for the Warriors as an eighth grader, ending his profession with 2,480 factors. Sorenson went into the U.S. Army after commencement, then performed collegiately at Southern State upon his return to South Dakota.

Here is a have a look at the opposite honorees:

Lisa (Kannegieter) Bahe, Brookings (Willow Lake 1990): Bahe was Miss Basketball and Gatorade Player of the Year in South Dakota as a senior at Willow Lake. She was an all-North Central Conference participant at South Dakota State the place she scored 1,130 profession factors.

Jeff Booher, Lincoln, Neb. (Brookings 1988): Brookings was 53-15 in Booher’s three seasons and gained the Class AA state title in 1987. He was Naismith Player of the Year in South Dakota as a senior. Booher had 1,018 profession factors at SDSU and was chosen to the all-NCC group.

Sherri Brende, Iowa City, Iowa (Baltic 1997): Miss Basketball and USA Today Player of the Year in South Dakota as a senior, Brende led Baltic to Class B state titles in 1995 and 1996 whereas scoring 1,886 profession factors. At SDSU she was all-NCC three years and totaled 1,444 factors.

Bernard Duffy (Fort Pierre 1947): The late Duffy led Fort Pierre to a three-year report of 64-7 and the primary two district titles at school historical past. He was among the many state’s earliest practitioners of the one-handed soar shot and was an excellent participant at Sioux Falls College.

Delbert Gillam (Argonne 1953): The late Gillam averaged 25.9 factors per sport as a senior at Argonne. He made South Dakota basketball historical past when he set the state scoring report of 72 factors in a sport in opposition to Canova that was performed on Feb. 10, 1953.

Gordie Groos, Sisseton (Sisseton 1966): An excellent two-sport athlete, Groos averaged 20 factors and 17 rebounds per sport as a senior at Sisseton. While at Northern State he was a four-year starter in basketball with 1,002 profession factors and an NAIA All-American in soccer.

Laurie (Bruns) Kruse, Lennox (Lennox 1987): At the time of her commencement Kruse held Lennox profession data of 1,073 factors and 633 rebounds. She scored 1,370 factors at SDSU. Kruse led the NCC with 23.5 factors per sport in 1991 and was league MVP.

Matt Martin, Sioux Falls (Spearfish 2004): Martin was all-state three years and led Spearfish to the Class AA state title in 2002. He had 1,602 profession factors and was Gatorade Player of the Year in South Dakota in 2004. Martin was a four-year starter on the University of Montana.

Clyde Olsen, Plankinton (Plankinton 1956): Plankinton completed fourth within the Class B state tourney in 1956 as Olsen totaled 84 factors, together with a report 40 within the semifinals. He shot 90 % on free throws that season and ended his profession with 1,335 factors.

Tom Rops, Luverne, Minn. (Lennox 1992): Rops and the Orioles gained the Class A state title in 1991 and completed unbeaten at 24-0. Custer topped Lennox within the title sport in 1992 regardless of 30 factors from Rops. He was an all-NCC participant at SDSU and totaled 1,147 factors.

Wayne Thue, Hayti (Hayti 1960): Thue led Hayti to a No. 1 rating within the Class B ballot and a 28-2 report in 1960. The Redbirds have been 47-6 in Thue’s closing two seasons. At Dakota Wesleyan he was all-South Dakota Intercollegiate Conference thrice and scored 1,404 factors.

Dawn (Hull) Zahn, Sioux Falls (Sisseton 1992): A 1,267-point profession scorer, Zahn led Sisseton to the Class A state title in 1990. She averaged 22 factors per sport as each a junior and senior. Zahn earned all-NCC honors at SDSU the place she totaled 1,125 factors.

Harley Zephier Jr., Dupree (Aberdeen Roncalli 1975): Zephier made his third look on an all-state group in 1975 when Roncalli gained the Class A state title. He averaged double figures in every of his 4 seasons, together with 28 factors per sport as a junior at Northwestern.

Source hyperlink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.